Find Your Balance. You Need It!

I had an interesting conversation with a co-worker earlier this week. We were discussing my blog, the topics I write about, and how blogging is a pure creative outlet for me. I don’t agonize over how often I blog because I don’t write to create a fan base. I write to release. I also shared that engaging my creative juices keeps me balanced. Her response? “Balance, what’s that?” It dawned on me that so many of us are frustrated with our lives because there’s no sense of balance, nor do we understand its importance.

I’ve spent my 20’s working my butt off…no really. My butt isn’t as big as it used to be. I worked 3 jobs at the same time for almost 2 years (corporate, retail, and administrative) just to make ends meet. Then after I married (and up until my 8th month pregnant), I worked my full-time gig during the day, then part-time in the evenings and weekends, averaging 65-70 hours during any given week. If I was off for a holiday from my full-time job, then I would work at my part-time job. I missed birthdays, weddings, mixers, recitals, etc. At my peak, I worked 6 months straight without one off day. And I was miserable. I was exhausted, and mad that I had NO time to do anything else but work. The blessing comes in the fact that I was employed and employed at great companies, performing duties I loved. The bills were also paid, I was able to travel, and even purchased a home too. But 6 weeks from my delivery due date, and with my parents urging, I vowed I would make more time for me and my baby. I decided I needed balance.

These days, I’m still working my butt off. That’s just part of who I am. But I try to stimulate other areas of life that give me peace. So for me, balance incorporates engaging the following:

  • Personal-God & Spiritual Growth, Making my Immediate Family Priority, Cultivating Close Friendships, Rousing my Creative Interests like Reading, Writing, Theatre, Painting
  • Professional-Being the Type of Worker I’d Want to Employ, Performing my Job with Excellence, Learning from the Best Entrepreneurs in the Business
  • Physical Fitness-Dance, Zumba, Jogging, Toning, Eating Healthy

And you know what? I’m happier. I have a greater sense of awareness. I now know what I need in order to feel whole. However, it’s a constant struggle. It’s also never a perfect balance. But, at least I can now identify what’s making me feel “off”.

So, what about you? Do you live a balanced life? Can you articulate what you need? Share your thoughts!

Peace. Love. Balance?

Cyn

4 thoughts on “Find Your Balance. You Need It!

  1. Well said Cyn!…balance is tuly an intricate part of a healthy life…I look back at how much if my twenties I spent worrying, just worrying about everything! So many times I felt out if sync, lol, it was crazy! So to start balancing my anxiety I made it a point to start meditating every morning while walking my dog. Whether I decide to pray for the day or just reflect on the positives in my life my morning walk with my dog has become my sacred time!…

Leave a Reply

