Are You Still Dreaming? I sure hope so!

On April 2nd, I posted my 1st blog entry for Brown Bella Bargains. It was exhilarating.

Say it with me, “Happy 1 Month Bellaversary!!!!”

In honor of Brown Bella Bargain’s 1st month, I feel it’s necessary to touch on the topic of dreams. I’m a natural dreamer, always have been.  When I was around 5 years old, I used to pour apple juice in champagne flutes, sit on our back porch wearing my mom’s sunglasses, and dream about being on a beach somewhere in the world…filthy rich.  When I was 11, I used to fantasize about DeVante from the R&B group Jodeci proposing to me at a concert while singing & playing an all white piano, with a stage filled with long-stem, deep red roses.  In recent years, I’ve dreamt about interviewing Oprah Winfrey, dancing onstage next to Beyonce, and spending my 30th birthday in either St. Barts or The French Riviera.

I love everything about dreaming; the fantasy, the inspiration, the rush. At 29, I’ve checked off several “life goals” from my to-do list.  Before getting married, I set 3 goals: Graduate from college, live in another state besides Georgia, and start my career. Did that! Before having a baby, I set some more goals:

  • Work insanely hard
  • Have some (more) fun
  • Travel the world
  • Become a homeowner
  • Get ready (spiritually, socially, & economically) for a baby

Did that!

Now, I dream about being someone my son will be proud of, someone he admires. I dream about leaving him with a legacy-both tangible & intangible. I dream about fulfilling my BIG, BIG dreams.

People will tell you to “chase your dreams” or “live out your purpose”, and my favorite, “God will give you everything you need to fulfill your life’s purpose”. I TRULY believe that. I do. But let’s be honest for a minute, PLEASE. Following one’s dream(s), and having faith can be scary! It’s intimidating. It’s unsure. I can admit that. But NOT having faith and NOT living out one’s purpose is scarier! I want my son and future children to know the importance of having dreams and working towards them. I want them to live life with purpose and passion. But I have to be the example. I have to do it. EVERYday I tell myself, “I can do this, I will do this.” I have breath in my body, therefore I have hope. I have a chance. My favorite Bible verse is James 2:26; faith without works is dead. So I will work toward my dreams. Will you?

I have a list of dreams, this blog and the true purpose of this blog is one. I’ve literally written out my dreams and placed them in my Bible (a tip I learned from my parents). Some of my dreams might be completely outlandish or unachievable to people. But they’re my dreams. I own them and I owe it to myself and my son to go get them. That means being determined to doing something (big or small) daily that helps me get closer to living out my purpose, my passions, and my destiny. I dare you to do the same!

What? Wait. Did I sense you say you’ve forgotten your dreams or don’t have any? If so, take some time today or this weekend to dream. If you already have dreams & know your purpose, then what have you done today to reach them? What will you do today? Something to think about. I’m jus’ saying…

Here’s to dream-getters!

Peace. Love. Sales.

Cyn-The Bargain Bella

www.facebook.com/brownbellabargains

P.S. I know this post is different from my usual posts about beauty and lifestyle bargains. But this topic was deep inside my soul and I had to get it out. Hope it resonated with you. If it did, feel free to share this post using the sharing icons below.

2 thoughts on “Are You Still Dreaming? I sure hope so!

  1. Very inspiring… Absolutlely love this one. Its funny because I really did not start DREAMING until after college. It is a great feeling to be able to say you dreamed it & actually did it! I can only imagine the heights I could have reached if I had an earlier start. I, much like you, will inspire my kids to dream BIG at a young age… Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • Hi Corliss!!! It’s never too late to start dreaming, so I’m to happy to know you’ve started. And you’ve got plenty of time to reach those heights. Thanks for reading the blog. I’m glad you were inspired.
      How’d you find the blog?
      Enjoy & Share!
      Cyn

Leave a Reply

